top of page

The Various Stages of Dyeing Your Hair Lilac


DISCLAIMER: Some of you may sit there and think ‘Ashley, your hair really isn’t that purple’. Well, that was because my lovely brain that likes to overthink everything made me feel like my hair was initially too bright, so I washed it twice to tone it down. Don’t worry, you can see my hair in all it’s vibrant glory below. I wasn’t going to use the vibrant picture where the lighting was off and my face was strange for the cover photo. At the end of the day, I want people to click through and they weren’t going to do that if my photo wasn’t amazing. (This turned out to be a longer disclaimer than initially anticipated, oops).

If you know me, you know that I’m incredibly restless. I hate things staying the same for too long (which is weird because I also hate change) and like to keep people on their toes. One of my favourite things to change is my hair, but over the past couple of years it’s stayed fairly the same. Maybe because I was worried about damaging it after I killed it the last time, maybe because I haven’t been through a break-up in a while. Who knows?

On Thursday, I decided it was time for a change and after my hairdresser told me not to cut my hair off again, it looked like I would have to mess with the colour. So, instead of going for my usual blonde foils, I decided lilac hair was the way to go. However, like most changes, it wasn’t exactly a smooth process.

Here are the several thought processes that went through my head before, during and after the change:

Before

Last time I did my hair, my foils were a really pale lilac for a couple of days. Maybe I should do that again?

I haven’t changed my hair in so long, I’m going to do it.

Look, a change inspired by something other than a guy. I’m such a strong, independent woman.

I wonder if my dad will kill me when he sees me hair? I mean, it’s not going to be over the top or anything, so it should be fine.

Wait, I am an adult. Why do I care what my parents think?

I care because I live with them and will have to listen to them lecture me about my life choices.

Eh, they’ll do that anyway. May as well get lilac hair.

During

This is exciting.

All of this foil in my hair makes me look like a satellite dish.

Should I Instagram story this? Nah, no one needs to see me until the finished product.

Bleach, bleach, bleach.

I hope it stays lilac for more than one wash this time.

I’m such a rebel.

Yay, time for the toner.

After

Oh dear God, what have I done?

This is very, very bright.

My father is going to kill me.

Good news is it’ll probably, definitely stay lilac for more than one wash this time.

Oh, this was a mistake.

I should’ve done this when I was a uni student. Now I’m a grown woman walking around the world with bright purple hair.

At least I’m ahead of the ultraviolet trend.

What if I walk into work tomorrow and get fired for looking like an idiot?

My dad thinks I’m trendy. Am I in an alternate universe?

Okay, I need to wash my hair and get rid of some of the colour.

Yeah, okay this is better.

Aww, everyone at work loves my hair.

Damn, maybe I shouldn’t have washed it.

Safe to say, dyeing my hair lilac was an interesting experience and it definitely did come out much brighter than I initially anticipated. However, sometimes it’s nice to be a bit rebellious, even if you’re a rebel with a cause that falls back into line a couple of hours later.

At least I still have a touch of lilac and my hair isn’t dead. So I’ll deem this experiment as a success.

bottom of page