top of page

A Few Thoughts I Had While Watching Netflix's A Christmas Prince


A Christmas Prince (Netflix)

A Christmas Prince. Source: Netflix.

When I logged into Netflix a couple of weeks ago, A Christmas Prince was at the top of my recommended list. Everyone was talking about the Hallmark-esque movie, so not wanting to miss out on what people were calling ‘the best Netflix movie ever’, I decided to give it a watch. After all, I love Christmas and royalty, so it seemed like a match made in heaven.

There are obviously spoilers in this post, so proceed at your own risk.

Here are a few thoughts I had while watching the movie:

1. So, I’m reading the synopsis before I hit play. She’s a journalist, he’s a prince. It’s like someone peered into my soul and made a Christmas movie just for me.

2. Aww, she’s the poor journalist that does so much work but never gets recognised for it. Welcome to life, lady.

3. All of her actual reporters are busy? Sorry, but if my editor was like ‘I have a story about the royal family, who wants it?’ I’d be on the plane before she even finished that sentence.

4. Playboy prince, bit cliche. Same as the whole tragic death of the king plotline.

5. That’s one big beard sir.

6. The prince just stole your taxi btw. What a nice attempt at a meet-cute.

7. Of course the notorious bad boy prince didn’t turn up for his press conference. What a douche.

8. Yes, you can go from the press conference to snooping in the castle. Where is the security?

9. Why is she taking a photo of knight armour? That has nothing to do with her story.

10. The butler assumes that some chick walking around is the princess's new tutor. Yeah, okay.

11. No ID check? Really? The royal family lives here and you’re just going to let some chick waltz right in? They need better security.

12. Oh wait, it gets better. The tutor isn’t meant to arrive for another two weeks. Seriously, look at her ID or the press badge hanging around her neck.

13. We’ve got a troubled princess who’s managed to scare off her other tutors. This movie is seriously working in some major tropes.

14. The chick just taught the princess that having a disability doesn’t hold you back. How sweet.

15. Now the chick, the prince and the princess are going to bond.

16. It’s her clumsiness that’ll win the prince’s heart.

17. And she feels out of place at a black tie event. If you were planning on getting into the palace, you’d think you would’ve brought a ball gown. If I was going into the palace, I would bring a wedding dress.

18. That acorn is important. I’m calling it.

19. Yeah, yeah, yeah, lots of romance and drama with an evil cousin and ex-girlfriend that are power hungry.

20. If I was a princess, I’d never want to be a Queen. Then you get to live in a palace, go to parties and be royalty without having to be responsible for a country. What’s wrong with this guy?

21. Aww, the Queen feels left out. Shame.

22. Oh a secret drawer containing secret papers.

23. The prince is adopted. Ok, I didn’t see that coming. This is going to cause plenty of drama.

24. Now she has to decide whether to write an expose or protect the prince. Sweetheart, write the expose. Men come and go, bylines are forever.

25. A ball. Finally.

26. She just gifted her PANDORA. The princess gifted the chick PANDORA. Not even gold PANDORA, silver PANDORA. I’d be like ‘can I have Cartier instead please?’

27. Side note, a prince would love me for my employee discount.

28. Cinderella moment.

29. And the cousin outs the prince for being the illegitimate heir. Now he gets to be king.

30. And the chick is exposed. Time to flee.

31. Poor betrayed prince.

32. Of course she’s sifting through papers and the giant clue finally dawns on her.

33. I called it. I knew the acorn was important.

34. Back home she goes to work with her father.

35. I don’t know what’s more cliche. The fact that the prince turned up at New Years to kiss her or the fact their getting engaged after knowing each other for a week.

36. What an ugly engagement ring.

37. Are there any royal members around my age?

38. I think the Queen’s grandson is only a tad younger.

39. Oh, crap the movie’s finished.

40. I can’t decide whether I liked it or if I should sue Netflix for that two hours of my life I’ll never get back.

bottom of page